Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

What is a planning commission? Are there any similarities between niti ayog and planning commission?


The planning commission is a statutory body established in India by the Government of India in March 1950, with Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru as its chairman. Niti Ayog is a policy think tank of the Government of India, which replaced the Planning Commission.

Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

The planning commission was set up in India on 15 March 1950 as a non-constitutional, non-statutory body

Niti Ayog is the successor of the planning commission. It was formed on 01 January 2015 by the Narendra Modi government. The main objective of this organization is to achieve sustainable development goals with cooperative federalism by partnering with the state governments. This organization also acts as a think tank to advise the government on economic policy.

History of Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

In history, the first Planning Commission was established on 15th August 1947 by the then Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru. It played a pivotal role in steering the post-independence economic development of the country over the next three decades. In 2004, it became an attached office of the Union Ministry of Strategy and Implementation. In January 2014, Niti Aayog replaced the Planning Commission with a new institution to promote cooperative federalism Among other things, one of the primary objectives for which Niti Aayog has been constituted is to promote the involvement of State Governments of India in the economic policy-making process using a bottom-up approach.

The institution has been created with a view to fostering cooperative federalism by promoting the involvement of States in economic policy-making and ensuring faster, sustainable, and more equitable development. The Prime Minister is the Chairperson of Niti Aayog. The Vice-Chairman is selected by the Prime Minister.*

Members of Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

The members of the commission are eminent personalities with long and rich experience in public life. They bring to the Commission their expertise in various fields such as economics, agriculture, defense, environment, etc

The Planning Commission is a Government of India Statutory body, constituted on 15 August 1947 under the provisions of the Constitution of India. It serves as the apex planning body of the country and advises the Union government on all matters of economic policy. The erstwhile Planning Commission was dissolved by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on 31 January 2015, and replaced with Niti Ayog

The National Institution for Transforming India (NITI) Aayog is a policy think tank of the Government of India, headquartered in New Delhi. It was formed via a resolution of the Union Cabinet on January 14, 2015.

The Niti Aayog is headed by the Prime Minister of India, who is its ex officio chairperson. Under him are two full-time members, namely the Deputy Chairman and the Chief Executive Officer.

The Governing Council of NITI Aayog is chaired by the Hon’ble Prime Minister and comprises Chief Ministers of all the States and Union Territories with legislatures and Lt Governors of other Union Territories. The Deputy Chairman is appointed by the Prime Minister from amongst the ranks of Members of Parliament (MPs) while CEO is appointed by the Prime Minister on the recommendation of a Search Committee.It includes full time members, Part time members and special invitees

Objectives of Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog

The objectives of the Planning Commission/ Niti Ayog as laid down in the Resolution of the Government of India are:

  • To promote a rapid rise in the standard of living of the people by efficient exploitation of the resources of the country, increasing production and offering opportunities to all for employment in accordance with their ability
  • To develop an integrated perspective plan for the entire national economy and to formulate plans for individual sectors with due regard to inter-sectoral priority, balance and coordination
  • To recommend measures for more effective utilization of resources, fuller exploitation of potentialities, greater productivity, distribution and exchange so as to bring about desired socio-economic changes within a planned time frame
  • To evolve suitable patterns of development taking into account regional disparities in development
  • To monitor and review the progress of development under the plan from time to time and to suggest necessary corrections
  • To undertake periodic reviews of sectoral targets, policies and programmes in the light of experience gained and emerging trends so as to keep them in consonance with changing times
  • To serve as a nodal agency for coordination between different ministries/departments of the Government at the Center and in the States in regard to planning matters
  • To interact with similar organizations in other countries which have a bearing on India’s plans. ix. Any other matter which may be referred to it by the Government of India


Planning commission is a commission that advises the Indian government on economic development and planning. Niti Ayog is a policy think tank that was established in January 2015, as part of the Modi Government’s efforts to reform the governance system. It replaced the Planning Commission which had been in place since 1950.