The Parliament of India-Parliamentary Terms

The Parliament of India-Parliamentary Terms

Parliament of India is the central part of the Indian Government. In this article, we will discuss the different parliamentary terms.

Indian political parties have a colossal place as their final destination. This has its members addressed by the prestigious name of ‘members of Parliament ‘.This house or place is termed as the parliament. The parliamentary terms include two houses- Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. Parliament has 788 seats which include 245 seats in Rajya Sabha and 533 seats in Lok sabha. The President of India heads both these houses. He has the power to resolve both the houses through the help of the prime minister of India and his council of ministers. This meets at Sansad mahal, Delhi. 

Two major Parliamentary Terms

The two major parliamentary terms are Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha.

Lok Sabha 

This is known as the lower house of the parliament. Members of Lok Sabha are elected through the election, where the party with the highest body of elected members will be nominated as the ruling party. The Head of the party, who should also be a nominated member of parliament, acts as the prime minister of India. This house has a tenure of 5 years, then changed through the election. The Indian Parliament has three sessions to carry out. It includes a budget session held from January to May, where discussions regarding monetary allocation to various welfare projects are discussed. 

This session decides the future of India in all aspects. This decides the GDP growth of a country for the financial year. The next session is held in September, which is called the monsoon session. The final session takes place by December, known as the winter session. It also includes two Anglo Indian members appointed by the President of India. It has a total seat of 535. Shri Om Birla presently heads this as the respected speaker. This requires a minimum age to be a member is 25 years. He should be mentally sound and not bankrupt. He should be free from the criminal record. 

Rajya Sabha

This is known as the upper house of parliament. The tenure of members is six years. This house has a total number of 250 members, including 12 members of no political background from fields of acting, sports, arts, etc. The vice president of India heads this house, presently headed by Shri. Venkaiah Naidu.250 is split into 233 seats for the States of India and 12 seats for union territory. The legal age to become a member of the Rajya Sabha is 30 years. According to the 95th amendment of the 2009 act, selecting Anglo Indian members by the president of India is valid only till 2020.

Beginning of the parliamentary journey

Edward Lutyens and Herbert Baker designed Parliament. Edward Lutyens also designed many architectural structures in Edwards Delhi. This was designed under the budget of 1lakh and 10 thousand dollars. This took six years in construction, and it was opened by Viceroy and Governor-General of India Lord Erwin

The opening ceremony took place on 18 January 1927. Build over 5.5 acres, including the central legislative hall, the council of state, and the princes’ hall

The central hall includes both upper and lower houses and a library hall, surrounded by a circular structure that provides accommodation for members of parliamentary committees, affairs and offices. In between this structure, a beautiful garden is present. This central hall is used only at times when both houses commence for joint sitting. The president of India addresses this gathering. This assembly takes place after every general election that takes place to select members of Parliament

 Proposal for the new building is laid considering the period of existing one. This eighty-five-year-old building suffers many structural anomalies reported by Parliamentary affairs and committee members

This proposal was proposed in the house by the previous speaker Shri.Meira Kumar. Stone for the new building was laid down by our honorable prime minister Shri Narendra Modi. This is a 971 crore project started by the year 2020, with the expected finishing in 2022

During the British period, a legislative council was formed under the Indian council’s act of 1861. This was the acting legislative decision-maker

After Independence, India decided to make its legislation through members selected through the election, nominated by people. The Indian constitution stated this. This marked the parliamentary beginning in 1950


Many milestones to many life-saving and life-changing acts and laws require the most efficient representation of people. In India, all these representatives are part of parliament. It has a hierarchy and needs to be understood by everyone. The parliamentary terms are important to understand knowing the structure of the Indian government.